Cathy Bramley’s Ivy Lane – book news!

I’m writing madly on my Book Camp writing retreat and hopefully getting lots done, but meanwhile I wanted to grab a moment (and one of the scraps of internet access which are few and far between here, which is a blessing and a curse) to pop up a guest post by my writing friend Cathy, who has a book out today which looks fab.

IvyLane Spring Cathy Bramley

Last summer on a flight back to the UK after our summer holiday I fastened my safety belt, turned on my Kindle and gave a contented sigh. It was hubby’s turn to sit with our daughters; the three of them were in the row on the other side of the aisle and I sat alone. Hurrah.

For two and a half largely uninterrupted hours I read. For those of you who love reading and for those of you who love reading AND have children you will feel my bliss. The book I read was Sealed With A Kiss by Rachael Lucas.

Oh my word! I loved that story so much. I wanted to be on that island, in that cottage with that dog, building those holiday cottages…

Anyway, the flight ended, the holiday ended and it was back to work. I stalked googled Rachael, followed her on Twitter, read her blog etc. Because Rachael was living my dream.

She was following the same path that I hoped to follow and I was desperately keen for her to succeed. Because if she did, then there was a chance I could do the same. Since then obviously Rachael has secured agency representation and signed a book deal with Pan Macmillan and I couldn’t be more pleased for her. She has works incredibly hard and deserves her success.

Meanwhile, I’ve had a pretty decent few months myself. I self-published my first novel Conditional Love in October and it became an Amazon best seller. I now have an agent and most excitingly, a book deal with Transworld.

 

Cathy Bramley MarshAgency

And today Thursday 3rd April is publication day for my new novel Ivy Lane!

Ivy Lane, will be comprised of four individual parts – Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter – which Transworld will publish as ebooks in their respective seasons (April, July, September, October). Ivy Lane tells the story of Tilly Parker, a young woman who moves to a new town for a fresh start. Tilly signs up for a plot at the local allotment on Ivy Lane and is drawn into the kind-hearted, funny and quirky cast of characters she meets there.

The paperback will follow next year, but the ebook is available from Amazon, iBooks and Kobo today!

Normally I would spend the day checking the Amazon charts, but I’m actually going to be on an aeroplane for six hours. With my Kindle fully-loaded, of course.

A massive thanks to you, Rachael for inviting me onto your blog today!

 

Author Interview – Paula Daly

As part of her blog tour I have an interview today with the brilliant Paula Daly. I was given a copy of her new book Keep Your Friends Close just before release and I devoured it in one day (you can read more about that here).

keep your friends close

Over to Paula’s answers…

Me: What’s your favourite comfort reading? Do you have old favourites you return to again and again?

I return to Kate Atkinson’s books over and over – not particularly comfort reading but I love the jaunty tone and rhythm of her language. I can read a paragraph and feel totally inspired. My one real comfort read is Anne of Green Gables. I will never tire of the story and my sixteen year old daughter and I re-watch the DVD together every Christmas. I think I am still trying to be Anne on some level.

Me: Do you read when you’re writing? (I know a lot of writers don’t tend to, and I’m always fascinated by this question. I’ve found I have to stick to different genres or I end up accidentally picking up writing characteristics by some kind of osmosis)

I am always reading. I read each morning in bed with a coffee (I treated myself to an espresso maker next to the bed when I got my book deal). I read when I’m cooking, in the bath each evening, in the car outside school. I’m not sure what I’d do with the chunks of time available when I’m writing if I wasn’t reading. I’d have to talk to people, I suppose…

Me: Where do you write? Do you have a routine?

I get the children off to school, put the washing machine on, walk the dog, and then start writing. I aim to write 800 – 1000 words before lunch and I generally don’t switch the Wi-Fi back on until I’m done. I have to be really strict about this as I know after one-thirty p.m. I’m pretty much brain dead. So I don’t answer the phone unless it’s one of the kids calling in distress or some other emergency.

I write in my bedroom overlooking Lake Windermere (although I have to pull the curtain across a little to shade the laptop screen). When I’m stuck I stare out the window and when I’m tired I have a sneaky nap. It is the BEST job.

Me: Your teenagers in Keep Your Friends Close were incredibly well written – do you think you’d ever consider writing a book in a different genre?

I can’t see myself writing in a different genre – thriller is my thing. And I’m not really turned on by YA. But never say never.

Me: When you’re not writing, do you keep a journal or do you have a break from writing altogether?

I have a break from writing altogether. That is, from the composition side of things. I find getting the words down the hardest part of the process, so I’m eager for a rest. What I don’t do is have a break from being a writer – if that makes sense. As soon as one book is done, I’m dreaming, planning and researching the next. I love doing this. There is nothing as exciting for me and I don’t think I could stop myself doing it if I wanted to.

Thanks to Paula for a fab interview – I’m feeling a bit of a slacker now, and I’m going to switch off the internet and get some writing done… more on that later this week.

Sealed with a Kiss – Pan Macmillan Cover Revealed!

Well, now that everyone who is on my newsletter has had their exclusive sneak preview (if you want to sign up, just click that link for loads more lovely stuff in the future) I’m really excited and happy to reveal the gorgeous brand new cover for Sealed with a Kiss…

Rachael Lucas sealed with a kiss

And here’s the blurb…

Kate is dumped on her best friend’s wedding day by the world’s most boring boyfriend, Ian. She’s mostly cross because he got in first – until she remembers she’s now homeless as well as jobless. Rather than move back home to her ultra-bossy mother, Kate takes a job on the remote Scottish island of Auchenmor as an all-round Girl Friday. Her first day is pretty much a disaster: she falls over, smack bang at the feet of her grouchy new boss, Roddy, Laird of the Island. Unimpressed with her townie ways, he makes it clear she’s got a lot to prove.
Island life has no room for secrets, but prickly Roddy’s keeping something to himself. When his demanding ex girlfriend appears back on the island, Kate’s budding friendship with her new boss comes to an abrupt end. What is Fiona planning – and can she be stopped before it’s too late?

This funny, big-hearted novel is the perfect read for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

Only another six weeks and two days until it’s released by Pan Macmillan, complete with NEW STUFF. Yippee! Now if you’ll excuse me, I have about two more scenes to write of the novella sequel which will be out in November (if you want a sneaky look at how the planning is coming along, have a look at Pinterest) and then I’m off next week on a writing retreat (that sounds SO posh) to get on with the next book (more about that on Pinterest, too).

The one where I sign a book deal

When I was eleven I wrote a pony book.

I wrote it in lined jotters, then typed it up, double spaced and splodged with Tippex, and sent it to Pan books, who published all my favourite pony stories. I got a very kind rejection back, asking me to keep on writing.

Life got in the way for a while, but in 2010 I started writing a story about a girl who moved to a Scottish island, and I filled it with dogs and horses and hot chocolate and wine in the bath and all the things I liked.

And this time, Caroline Hogg at Pan Macmillan liked it, so yesterday I went with my lovely agent Amanda Preston and signed a deal to write three more books. Sealed with a Kiss will be in the shops in May 2014, with a Christmas e-novella sequel to follow, and then another two full length books to come.

(yippee!)